Tagarchief: Catapult Books

Jamie Figueroa – Brother Sister Mother Explorer

Jamie Figueroa Brother Sister Mother Explorer recensie en informatie Amerikaanse debuutroman. Op 2 maart 2021 verschijnt bij Uitgeverij Catapult de eerste roman van de Amerikaanse schrijfster Jamie Figueroa. Er is nog geen Nederlandse vertaling van de roman verschenen of aangekondigd.

Jamie Figueroa Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer recensie en informatie

Als de redactie het boek leest, kun je op deze pagina de recensie en waardering vinden van de roman Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer. Het boek is geschreven door Jamie Figueroa. Daarnaast zijn hier gegevens van de uitgave en bestelmogelijkheden opgenomen. Bovendien kun je op deze pagina informatie lezen over de inhoud van eerste roman van de Amerikaanse schrijfster Jamie Figueroa over een getroebleerde broer-zus relatie.

Jamie Figueroa Brother Sister Mother Explorer Recensie

Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer

  • Schrijfster: Jamie Figueroa (Verenigde Staten)
  • Soort boek: Amerikaanse roman
  • Taal: Engels
  • Uitgever: Catapult
  • Verschijnt: 2 maart 2021
  • Omvang: 240 pagina’s
  • Uitgave: Gebonden Boek / Ebook

Waardering en recensie van de roman

  • “A fableistic, curious and dazzling debut novel of enormous power and grace about a sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange.” (Booklist)

Flaptekst van de roman van Jamie Figueroa

In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their mother’s passing, two siblings spend a final weekend together in their childhood home. Seeing her brother, Rafa, careening toward a place of no return, Rufina devises a bet: if they can make enough money performing for privileged tourists in the plaza over the course of the weekend to afford a plane ticket out, Rafa must commit to living. If not, Rufina will make her peace with Rafa’s own plan for the future, however terrifying it may be.

As the siblings reckon with generational and ancestral trauma, set against the indignities of present-day prejudice, other strange hauntings begin to stalk these pages: their mother’s ghost kicks her heels against the walls; Rufina’s vanished child creeps into her arms at night; and above all this, watching over the siblings, a genderless, flea-bitten angel remains hell-bent on saving what can be saved.

Bijpassende boeken en informatie

Lauren Oyler – Fake Accounts

Lauren Oyler Fake Accountsrecensie en informatie over deze nieuwe Amerikaanse roman. Op 9 februari 2021 verschijnt bij Uitgeverij Catapult Books de debuutroman van de Amerikaanse schrijfster Lauren Oyler. Er is geen Nederlandse vertaling van deze roman verschenen of aangekondigd.

Lauren Oyler Fake Accounts recensie en informatie

Als de redactie het boek leest, kun je op deze pagina de recensie en waardering vinden van de roman Fake Accounts. Het boek is geschreven door Lauren Oyler. Daarnaast zijn hier gegevens van de uitgave en bestelmogelijkheden opgenomen. Bovendien kun je op deze pagina informatie lezen over de inhoud van eerste roman van de Amerikaanse schrijfster Lauren Oyler.

Lauren Oyler Fake Accounts Amerikaanse roman

Fake Accounts

  • Schrijfster: Lauren Oyler (Verenigde Staten)
  • Soort boek: Amerikaanse roman, debuutroman
  • Taal: Engels
  • Uitgever: Catapult Books
  • Verschijnt: 9 februari 2021
  • Omvang: 272 pagina’s
  • Uitgave: Paperback / Ebook

Flaptekst van de eerste roman van Lauren Ovier

A woman in a post-election tailspin discovers that her boyfriend is an anonymous online conspiracy theorist in this provocative and subversive debut novel that examines social media, sex, feminism, and fiction, the connection they’ve all promised, and the lies they help us tell.

On the eve of Donald Trump’s inauguration, a young woman snoops through her boyfriend’s phone and makes a startling discovery: he’s an anonymous internet conspiracy theorist, and a popular one at that. Already fluent in internet fakery, irony, and outrage, she’s not exactly shocked by the revelation. Actually, she’s relieved–he was always a little distant–and she plots to end their floundering relationship while on a trip to the Women’s March in DC. But this is only the first in a series of bizarre twists that expose a world whose truths are shaped by online lies.

Suddenly left with no reason to stay in New York and increasingly alienated from her friends and colleagues, our unnamed narrator flees to Berlin, embarking on her own cycles of manipulation in the deceptive spaces of her daily life, from dating apps to expat meetups, open-plan offices to bureaucratic waiting rooms. She begins to think she can’t trust anyone–shouldn’t the feeling be mutual?

Narrated with seductive confidence and subversive wit, Fake Accounts challenges the way current conversations about the self and community, delusions and gaslighting, and fiction and reality play out in the internet age.

Bijpassende boeken en informatie

Jayanth Kaikini – No Presents Please

Jayanth Kaikini No Presents Please recensie en informatie over de inhoud van dit boek met verhalen uit Mumbai, India. Op 21 mei 2020 verschijnt bij Catapult Books de de Engelse vertaling van de verhalenbundel van de Indiase Kannada schrijver Jayanth Kaikini. Er is geen Nederlandse vertaling van de verhalenbundel beschikbaar.

Jayanth Kaikini No Presents Please Verhalen uit Mumbai

Als de redactie het boek leest, kun je op deze pagina de recensie en waardering vinden van deze verhalen uit Mumbai (India), No Presents Please. Het boek is geschreven door de Indiase schrijver Jayanth Kaikini. Daarnaast zijn hier gegevens van de uitgave en bestelmogelijkheden opgenomen. Bovendien kun je op deze pagina informatie lezen over de inhoud van dit boek met verhalen, oorspronkelijk geschreven in Kannada door Jayanth Kaikini.

Jayanth Kaikini No Presents Please Verhalen uit Mumbai

No Presents Please

  • Schrijver: Jayanth Kaikini (India)
  • Soort boek: verhalen
  • Origineel: No Presents Please… (2018, Kannada)
  • Engelse vertaling: Tejaswini Niranjana
  • Uitgever: Catapult Books
  • Verschijnt: 28 juli 2020
  • Omvang: 240 pagina’s
  • Uitgave: Paperback / Ebook

Flaptekst van het boek met verhalen uit Mumbai

Jayant Kaikini’s gaze takes in the people in the corners of Mumbai—a bus driver who, denied vacation time, steals the bus to travel home; a slum dweller who catches cats and sells them for pharmaceutical testing; a father at his wit’s end who takes his mischievous son to a reform institution.

In this metropolis, those who seek find epiphanies in dark movie theaters, the jostle of local trains, and even in roadside keychains and lost thermos flasks. Here, in the shade of an unfinished overpass, a factory worker and her boyfriend browse wedding invitations bearing wealthy couples’ affectations—“no presents please”—and look once more at what they own.

Translated from the Kannada by Tejaswini Niranjana, these resonant stories, recently awarded the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature, take us to photo framers, flower markets, and Irani cafes, revealing a city trading in fantasies while its strivers, eating once a day and sleeping ten to a room, hold secret ambitions close.

Bijpassende boeken en informatie